Skip to content

Lyndhurst

Lyndhurst, NY

lyndhurst.org
Lyndhurst, also known as the Jay Gould estate, is a Gothic Revival country house that sits in its own 67-acre park beside the Hudson River in Tarrytown, … See more

Reviews

Any rating
Loading reviews...
Jan 3, 2023
Visited the mansion around the holidays, so beautiful. The tour was very informative. Great to see the mansion is still in great shape. The interior has time period pieces, art and furniture, all ori… Full review by Cruiser304511
Dec 12, 2022
My wife and I took the Christmas tour of the mansion with a friend of ours. We booked our tickets weeks in advance and we were glad we did. It was sold out fast. The mansion overlooks the beautifu… Full review by Melonie S
Nov 27, 2022
Unreal our experience was really the best Christmas family day trip we all enjoyed our time there ! We have been to Newport RI in Nov to see the mansions decorated for Christmas the houses we grand a… Full review by 449wendyz

Articles

A Stunning Estate in the Hudson River Valley
Surrounded by a park-like atmosphere that overlooks the Hudson, the Lyndhurst mansion is one of the most stunning estates in the Hudson River Valley. Designed in the late 1930s by Alexander Jackson Davis and William Paulding, the unusual Gothic Revival design shocked the architectural community. Its asymmetrical facade, castle-like turrets and dark interior led early critics to dub the mansion Paulding's Folly. Second owner George Merritt, doubled the size of the mansion, and renamed it Lyndenhurst after the estate's Linden trees. Merritt employed landscape designer Ferdinand Mangold to create an English naturalistic style setting, including rolling lawns, specimen trees and a long curving entrance drive that offers a surprise view of the mansion. The Lyndhurst's third owner, railroad tycoon Jay Gould, took over the Tarrytown estate in 1880, hoping to escape the pressures of running a string of businesses which included the Union Pacific Railroad, the New York Elevated Railway and the Western Union Telegraph. Struggling with tuberculosis, Gold died in 1892, leaving the estate to his daughter Helen. Following Helen's death, sister Anna, French Duchess of Sagan, donated the mansion to the National Trust for Historic Preservation in 1961. The Lyndhurst is open for tours throughout the year, varying its schedule of days and time. Estate buildings are spread among the immaculate grounds and include a Lord and Burnham steel-framed greenhouse complex and the oldest regulation bowling alley in the country. Guests are also invited to bring their walking shoes and enjoy the sights along the Hudson River Walking Trail. Area Map
scenicusa.net
Gloomy, Sombre, & Highly Romantic
Lyndhurst, also known as Jay Gould estate, is a Gothic Revival country house within its own 67 acre park beside the Hudson River, located in Tarrytown, New York approximately one-half mile south of the Tappan Zee Bridge on US 9.Designed in 1838 by Alexander Jackson Davis, the house has been owned by New York City mayor William Paulding, Jr., merchant George Merritt, and railroad tycoon Jay Gould. In 1961, Gould's daughter Anna Gould donated it to the National Trust for Historic Preservation. It is now open to the public.The house was first named "Knoll", although critics quickly dubbed it "Paulding's Folly" because of its unusual design that includes fanciful turrets and asymmetrical outline. Its limestone exterior was quarried at Sing Sing. The second owner, Merritt, doubled the house's size in 1864–65 and renamed it "Lyndenhurst" for the estate's linden trees. His new north wing added an imposing four-story tower, new porte-cochere and a new dining room, two bedrooms, and servants' quarters. Gould purchased the property in 1880 for use as a country house, shortened its name to "Lyndhurst" and occupied it until his death in 1892.Unlike later mansions along the Hudson River, Lyndhurst's rooms are few and of a more modest scale, and strongly Gothic in character. Hallways are narrow, windows small and sharply arched, and ceilings are fantastically peaked, vaulted, and ornamented. The effect is at once gloomy, somber, and highly romantic; the large, double-height art gallery provides a contrast of light and space.Architectural detail.The house sits within a park, designed in the English naturalistic style by Ferdinand Mangold, whom Merritt hired. He drained the surrounding swamps, created lawns, planted specimen trees, and built the conservatory. The resultant landscape was the first such park along the Hudson River. It provides an outstanding example of 19th-century landscape design, with rolling lawns accented with shrubs and specimen trees, a curving entrance drive that reveals "surprise" views, and a remarkably large steel-framed conservatory.This house was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1966.It was the set for the 1970 movie House of Dark Shadows, and the 1971 movie Night of Dark Shadows, both based on the famous gothic soap opera Dark Shadows.
maps.roadtrippers.com

Reviews from the web

Social profiles

Nearby

Where to stay

See all

Nearby events

See all
Data from: Wikipedia · TripAdvisor · Frommers · Freebase
Wikipedia text under CC-BY-SA license