How to Set Email Alert Preferences

Selecting your email alert preferences is an important step in setting up your Bing Webmaster Tools account. It allows you to provide us with permission to email alerts and messages to you so that you can get alerts about new and unread messages in your Message Center from within the comfort of your inbox, keeping you up-to-date all the time.  You can select which alerts you would like to see in your inbox and tell us the frequency in which you would like to receive alert emails.

Completing your Profile

From any page in your Webmaster Tools account, you can set up your email preferences by clicking on Profile at the top of the page (see the orange arrow in the following screenshot).

Bing Webmaster Tools Profile

You will see a popup window open where you can fill in profile information about yourself and your business.  This information is held securely.  For more information, please see our Privacy Policy. As you complete the Profile information, you will come to the section about Contact Preferences.

Contact and Alert Preferences

In order to receive any alerts via email – which will be sent to the email address you have entered in the Email field, you must give Bing Webmaster Tools permission to email you by selecting Yes, I would like to receive Bing Webmaster communications. Contact and alert preferences

Next, you can select the frequency of emails we are allowed to send which can be daily, weekly, or monthly.  If you select the option to receive alerts about malware, we urge you to receive emails from us daily to avoid waiting to be alerted to a potential malware issue.

The Alert Preference section allows you to select which items we should send alerts about.

  • Crawl Errors – we will send a message if we have detected an issue crawling the site
  • Sitemaps – we will send a message if we encounter an error with your sitemaps
  • Index Issues – we will send a message if there are issues with your site in our index
  • Malware – we will send a message if we detect malware associated with your website

To save your settings click Save before closing the popup.