Phishing Re-Evaluation

Online phishing (pronounced like the word fishing) is a way to trick computer users into revealing personal or financial information through an e‑mail message or website. A common online phishing scam starts with an e‑mail message that looks like an official notice from a trusted source, such as a bank, credit card company, or reputable online merchant. In the e‑mail message, recipients are directed to a fraudulent website where they are asked to provide personal information, such as an account number or password. This information is then usually used for identity theft.

Bing uses Microsoft SmartScreen's list of reported phishing sites to warn users that a page they are navigating to, from Bing’s search results, could be dangerous. In addition, the webmaster of the site receives a notification in the form of a Phishing Alert in Bing Webmaster Tools.

noteNote
If you're seeing warnings on results from your site in Bing (and Yahoo! for that matter) and you haven't signed up for the Bing Webmaster Tools and verified ownership yet, please sign up to get additional information about the harmful elements we discovered on you site. Bing Webmaster Tools is the only place that allows you to submit a re-evaluation request once you have cleaned your site.

IF MY SITE HAS A PHISHING WARNING, WHAT SHOULD I DO?

If your site generates a phishing warning, please follow these steps:

  1. Within your site, review the areas where you ask for personal information and then review its usage
  2. Once you are sure that your site is clean, login to Bing Webmaster Tools and navigate to the Phishing tool, located under Security.
  3. In the Phishing tool, click Request a Review to start the review process.

HOW DO I CHECK MY WEBSITE MANUALLY?

You can check websites manually from Internet Explorer by clicking the Tools button tools, pointing to Safety, and then choosing Check this website.